cuttleflow
Commons
Meridian Commons · Group Personal Accident and Sickness

Group Personal Accident and Sickness Insurance

Capital and weekly benefits for categories of employees, executives, contractors, voluntary workers, players and students, bought by an organisation for its people.

About This Policy

This policy pays fixed benefits to the people it covers if they suffer an injury, or (if the schedule shows sickness cover for their category) a sickness, during the policy period. It pays a lump sum for death and for the permanent disablements listed in the Capital Benefits clause, and a weekly benefit while a covered person is temporarily disabled and cannot work.

It is bought by an employer, club, association or other organisation (the policyholder) for the categories of people shown in the schedule. The policyholder is the only party to the contract. Each covered person can claim the benefits under this policy directly, as the Covered Persons' Rights condition explains.

It is a benefit policy, not an indemnity policy. The capital benefits are fixed amounts that do not depend on financial loss. The weekly benefits replace part of a covered person's income and are measured against it, as the How Much We Pay Each Week provision sets out.

It is not workers compensation, life insurance or private health insurance, and it does not replace any of them. It cannot pay any medical expense for which a Medicare benefit is payable (see the What the Law Does Not Allow Us to Pay provision).

This policy, together with the schedule, the policyholder's proposal and any endorsements shown in the schedule, forms the contract of insurance between the policyholder and us. Where the schedule and this wording differ, the schedule applies. Words with special meanings are listed in the Definitions section. In this wording "you" means a covered person, as the definition of You, Your says.

This wording is a complete wording in its own right. It has group clauses where a group policy differs from the individual Meridian Personal Accident and Sickness wording, but it does not incorporate that wording or depend on it.

Version and Document History

This document is version-controlled. The version and date shown on the cover page and in the footer of each page govern this text. The version stated in the schedule as current at the start of the policy period applies for the whole policy period, unless the schedule or an endorsement states otherwise.

Important Information

Who issues this policy. The insurer, its Australian Financial Services Licence and its contact details are shown in the schedule. Where the insurer subscribes to the General Insurance Code of Practice, the schedule says so.

Who this policy is for. This wording is written for businesses and professionals. Some buyers, such as small businesses, may be retail clients under the Corporations Act 2001 (Cth). Where a buyer is a retail client, the issuer must give a Product Disclosure Statement and make a Target Market Determination available. This wording is not itself a Product Disclosure Statement.

Note for issuers. Schools, clubs, employers and other organisations buy this policy for individuals. Where the policyholder or a covered person may be a retail client, the issuer must wrap this wording in a Product Disclosure Statement and prepare a Target Market Determination before the policy is sold.

The policyholder's duty when it applies. What the policyholder must tell us depends on the kind of contract this is.

If the policyholder does not comply, we may reduce or refuse a claim, or cancel the policy, as that Act allows. Because covered persons claim under s.48 of that Act, a claim by a covered person can be affected by what the policyholder did or did not tell us. Covered persons do not have to tell us anything when they join, unless the schedule or an endorsement asks for a statement from them.

[WP REVIEW: confirm whether a group policy bought by an employer for its employees is a consumer insurance contract (s11AB) and therefore under s20B, and how far s48(3) defences based on the policyholder's conduct should be limited.]

Terms that differ from standard cover. The Insurance Contracts Act 1984 (Cth) sets standard cover for sickness and accident contracts. This policy differs from standard cover. In particular: - it does not cover a pre-existing condition (see the Pre-existing Conditions exclusion); - it does not pay weekly sickness benefits for a sickness that first shows itself in the first 30 days after weekly sickness benefits first start (this does not apply on renewal, to a sickness that results from an injury, or to a person who transfers from the policyholder's previous group policy) (see the First 30 Days of Sickness Cover exclusion); - it does not pay weekly sickness benefits for disablement caused by pregnancy, childbirth or miscarriage, except for a complication that is not a normal part of pregnancy or childbirth, which it covers only from the 26th week of pregnancy (see the Pregnancy exclusion); - it does not cover disablement caused by cosmetic or elective treatment (see the Elective Treatment exclusion); - it does not cover an injury that happens while a covered person is taking part in a hazardous pursuit, in professional sport, in flying other than as a passenger, or in military service, or an injury to the extent caused by a covered person's alcohol or drug use, criminal act or malicious act (see the Hazardous Pursuits exclusion, the Professional Sport exclusion, the Flying exclusion, the Military Service exclusion, the Alcohol and Drugs exclusion and the Criminal and Malicious Acts exclusion); - it does not cover intentional self-injury, war or nuclear risks (see the Intentional Self-Injury exclusion, the War exclusion and the Nuclear exclusion); - weekly benefits start only after the waiting period, stop at the end of the benefit period, are limited to a percentage of income, and stop at age 65 unless the schedule shows otherwise; - weekly sickness benefits for a mental illness are limited to 26 weeks for any one sickness (see the Mental Illness provision); - weekly benefits are reduced by workers compensation, other statutory payments and employer pay for the same disablement (see the Other Payments for the Same Disablement provision); - weekly benefits already paid for an injury are deducted from most capital benefits for the same injury (see the Weekly Benefits Before a Capital Benefit provision); - capital benefits are reduced where the total of capital benefits across our policies for the same life is above the accumulation limit (see the Accumulation Limit provision); - capital benefits are reduced from age 70, and no benefit is payable for an injury after age 75 (see the Age Limits provision); - cover outside Australia is limited to 90 consecutive days on any one trip (see the Living and Travelling Overseas provision); - all benefits are subject to the aggregate limits (see the Aggregate Limits provision).

[WP REVIEW: confirm whether standard cover (s35; ICR reg 24) applies to a group contract whose policyholder is a company, and whether this summary, given to the policyholder, and the copy the policyholder makes available to covered persons, clearly inform under s35(2).]

Copies for covered persons. The policyholder must make a copy of this wording and the relevant part of the schedule available to each covered person.

Cooling-off period. The policyholder may cancel this policy within 21 days of the date it starts, and within 21 days of each renewal, by telling us in writing. If no claim has been made, we will refund the full premium paid for that period, less any non-refundable government charges we cannot recover.

Financial Claims Scheme. If the schedule shows the insurer is an APRA-authorised general insurer, covered persons may be entitled to a payment under the Financial Claims Scheme if the insurer becomes insolvent. Information is available at www.fcs.gov.au.

Schedule

(Completed separately for each policy.)

The schedule shows:

- The policyholder, its ABN and address, and the state or territory whose law governs this policy (see the Governing Law condition) - The policy period, with its start and end dates - Each category of covered persons, and for each category: - who is in it, and the number of covered persons (or the declaration basis); - the occupation class; - the scope of cover: 24 hours a day, occupational, or non-occupational; - the capital sum, as a fixed amount or a multiple of annual income, and any maximum; - whether weekly benefits apply, and if so the percentage of income, the maximum weekly benefit, the waiting period and the benefit period; - whether weekly sickness benefits apply; - any age limits that differ from the Age Limits provision - The aggregate limits (see the Aggregate Limits provision) and the accumulation limit, if different from the defaults - The limits of the additional benefits, where they differ from the defaults in the Additional Benefits section - The free cover limit for new covered persons (see the Automatic Cover for New Covered Persons condition) - The premium basis, the deposit premium, the minimum premium, and the declaration date (see the Declarations and Premium Adjustment condition) - The premium, including stamp duty and GST - The insurer and its licence - The endorsements that apply, by code, with their variables

Definitions

In this policy, the words below have these meanings wherever they appear, whatever their capitalisation. The singular includes the plural.

Accident

A sudden, unexpected and identifiable event that happens to you during the policy period and within the scope of cover.

Benefit Period

The longest period for which we pay weekly benefits for any one injury or sickness, shown in the schedule as 52, 104 or 260 weeks. The benefit period starts on the first day after the waiting period ends.

Capital Sum

The amount shown in the schedule as the capital sum for your category. Where the schedule shows the capital sum as a multiple of annual income, it is that multiple of your income for 52 weeks, up to any maximum shown in the schedule.

Category

A category of covered persons shown in the schedule.

Covered Person

A natural person who is within a category, and inside the age limits for that category, at the time of the accident or when the sickness first shows itself. A person stops being a covered person when they leave the category, or when the policy ends or is cancelled, whichever is first.

Endorsement

A written change to this policy that we issue and that is shown in the schedule. The available endorsements are listed in the Endorsement Library.

Hazardous Pursuit

Any activity listed in the Hazardous Pursuits exclusion.

Income

Your average weekly income from personal exertion, before tax, over the 12 months before the disablement started, or over the time you have been working if that is shorter.

  • If you are an employee, it is your salary or wages, including regular overtime, commissions, shift allowances and bonuses, and the employer superannuation contributions made for you.
  • If you are self-employed or a working director of your own company, it is the income your personal exertion generated for the business, after deducting the expenses of earning it.

Income does not include investment income, or income that continues to be paid to you while you are disabled.

Injury

A bodily injury caused solely and directly by an accident, and not by a sickness or a gradual process. Injury includes a resulting medical condition that first shows itself within 12 months of the accident.

Medical Practitioner

A person registered to practise medicine in Australia, or a person with an equivalent qualification and registration in the country where you are treated, who is not you, a member of your family, your business partner or your employee.

Mental Illness

A mental or psychiatric disorder, including anxiety, depression, stress, burnout and post-traumatic stress disorder, diagnosed by a psychiatrist or a clinical psychologist.

Occupation Class

The class from 1 to 5 shown in the schedule for your category, which we used to set the premium.

Permanent

Lasting, or in the opinion of a medical practitioner we accept expected to last, at least 12 months from the date of the injury, and beyond hope of improvement at the end of that time. We assess whether a loss is permanent once 12 months have passed since the injury, even if that is after the 12-month period in the Capital Benefits clause.

Permanent Total Disablement

Disablement from an injury that starts within 12 months of the accident, that has lasted, or in the opinion of a medical practitioner we accept will last, at least 12 months from the date of the injury without a break, and that in the opinion of that medical practitioner will permanently prevent you from working in any occupation for which you are reasonably suited by education, training or experience. We assess permanent total disablement once 12 months have passed since the injury.

Policy Period

The period shown in the schedule.

Policyholder

The organisation named in the schedule as the policyholder. It is the only party to this contract with us.

Pre-existing Condition

A condition, illness or injury:

  • for which you received treatment, medication or advice from a medical practitioner in the 12 months before the date you first became a covered person; or
  • whose symptoms you were aware of, or a reasonable person in your circumstances would have been aware of, in the 3 months before that date.

A condition that we have accepted in writing for you, and that is shown in the schedule, is not a pre-existing condition.

Scope of Cover

The times when this policy covers you, shown in the schedule for your category:

  • 24 hours a day: at all times, anywhere in the world, subject to the Living and Travelling Overseas provision;
  • occupational: while you are working for the policyholder, or engaged in an activity the policyholder has authorised, and while travelling directly between your home and that work or activity;
  • non-occupational: at all times except while you are working, and except while travelling directly between your home and your place of work.

If the schedule shows no scope of cover for your category, 24 hours a day applies.

Sickness

An illness or disease that first shows itself during the policy period. Sickness does not include an injury.

Temporary Partial Disablement

Disablement from an injury or sickness that follows a period of temporary total disablement and that prevents you from doing one or more of the important duties of your usual occupation, or from working your usual hours, while you can do some of them.

Temporary Total Disablement

Disablement from an injury or sickness that wholly prevents you from doing every important duty of your usual occupation, for which you are under the regular care of a medical practitioner and following their advice.

Waiting Period

The number of days, shown in the schedule, at the start of a period of temporary total disablement for which we do not pay a weekly benefit.

We, Us, Our

The insurer named in the schedule.

Weekly Benefit

The maximum weekly benefit shown in the schedule for your category.

You, Your

A covered person.

What Is Covered

Capital Benefits

If you suffer an injury during the policy period and within the scope of cover, and within 12 months of the accident the injury results in one of the events in this table, we will pay the percentage of the capital sum shown against that event. An event that must be permanent only needs to have started within those 12 months. We assess whether it is permanent once 12 months have passed since the accident, and may do so after the 12 months have ended.

EventPercentage of the capital sum
Event 1Death100%
Event 2Permanent total disablement100%
Event 3Permanent paraplegia or quadriplegia100%
Event 4Permanent total loss of sight in both eyes100%
Event 5Permanent total loss of sight in one eye100%
Event 6Permanent total loss of use of two or more limbs100%
Event 7Permanent total loss of use of one limb100%
Event 8Permanent total loss of hearing in both ears80%
Event 9Permanent total loss of hearing in one ear20%
Event 10Permanent total loss of speech80%
Event 11Permanent total loss of the lens of one eye50%
Event 12Third-degree burns to 40% or more of the body surface50%
Event 13Permanent total loss of use of four fingers and the thumb of one hand75%
Event 14Permanent total loss of use of four fingers of one hand40%
Event 15Permanent total loss of use of a thumb: both joints / one joint30% / 15%
Event 16Permanent total loss of use of a finger: three joints / two joints / one joint15% / 10% / 5%
Event 17Permanent total loss of use of all toes of one foot / the big toe, both joints / the big toe, one joint / any other toe, each15% / 5% / 3% / 1%
Event 18Permanent partial disablement not listed aboveThe percentage of permanent loss of whole-body function, assessed under the Fifth Edition of the American Medical Association Guides to the Evaluation of Permanent Impairment (or the edition shown in the schedule), up to 75%

In this table, loss of use of a limb includes loss of the hand or foot, and loss of a limb, hand, finger or toe includes its physical separation.

[WP REVIEW: confirm the Fifth Edition of the American Medical Association Guides to the Evaluation of Permanent Impairment is the right default edition, and that Event 18 may rely on it by reference.]

Weekly Benefits for Injury

If the schedule shows weekly benefits for your category, and you suffer an injury during the policy period and within the scope of cover that results in temporary total disablement starting within 12 months of the accident, we will pay you the weekly benefit after the waiting period, for as long as the temporary total disablement continues, up to the benefit period.

If temporary total disablement is followed by temporary partial disablement, we will pay you the weekly benefit less what you earn in each week of the temporary partial disablement, for the rest of the benefit period. If a medical practitioner certifies you can return to work in a reduced capacity, and you choose not to, we will pay 25% of the weekly benefit for up to 4 weeks.

How much we pay each week is set by the How Much We Pay Each Week provision.

Weekly Benefits for Sickness

This clause applies only if the schedule shows weekly sickness benefits for your category.

If you suffer a sickness during the policy period that results in temporary total disablement, we will pay you the weekly benefit after the waiting period, for as long as the temporary total disablement continues, up to the benefit period.

Temporary partial disablement from a sickness is paid on the same terms as in the Weekly Benefits for Injury clause.

The scope of cover does not limit this clause: a sickness is covered whenever it first shows itself during the policy period.

Additional Benefits

These benefits are paid in addition to the capital sum and the weekly benefit, unless a clause says otherwise. Their limits apply to each covered person, and are shown in each clause unless the schedule shows a different amount.

Exposure and Disappearance

If you suffer an event in the Capital Benefits table because you were exposed to the elements after an accident, we will treat it as caused by injury.

If you disappear after the conveyance you were travelling in is wrecked, sinks or disappears, and you are not found within 12 months, we will pay the Event 1 benefit. Before we pay, your legal personal representative must give us a signed undertaking to repay it if you are later found alive.

Funeral Expenses

If we pay the Event 1 benefit, we will also pay the reasonable funeral, cremation or burial expenses incurred, and the cost of returning your remains to your home in Australia. Unless the schedule shows otherwise, the limit is $15,000 for any one injury.

Dependent Children

If we pay the Event 1 benefit, we will also pay a benefit for each child under 18 years of age, or under 25 years of age and studying full time, who was wholly or mainly dependent on you. Unless the schedule shows otherwise, the benefit is $10,000 for each child, and no more than $50,000 in total.

Spouse or Partner Retraining

If we pay the Event 1 or Event 2 benefit, we will also reimburse the cost of a course of training your spouse or partner takes within 2 years to gain or improve qualifications for paid work. Unless the schedule shows otherwise, the limit is $15,000.

Coma

If an injury causes you to be in a coma for more than 7 consecutive days, we will pay a daily benefit from the first day of the coma. Unless the schedule shows otherwise, the benefit is $100 a day for up to 90 days. This benefit is paid in addition to any other benefit for the same injury.

Broken Bones

If an injury causes you to fracture a bone, and a medical practitioner confirms the fracture by X-ray or other imaging, we will pay the percentage below of the broken bones limit. Unless the schedule shows otherwise, the broken bones limit is $7,500.

BonePercentage
Skull, neck or spine (excluding the coccyx)100%
Pelvis or thigh bone50%
Arm, leg, collarbone, shoulder blade, jaw or kneecap25%
Ribs, hand, wrist, foot, ankle, coccyx or breastbone10%
Finger, toe or nose5%

We pay for the highest-percentage bone only for any one injury. We do not pay this benefit if we pay a capital benefit for the same injury.

Rehabilitation

If you are receiving weekly benefits, we will pay the cost of a rehabilitation or return-to-work program that we agree beforehand is likely to help you return to work sooner. Unless the schedule shows otherwise, the limit is $10,000 for any one injury or sickness. Taking part does not reduce your weekly benefit.

Home and Vehicle Modification

If we pay the Event 2, Event 3 or Event 6 benefit, we will also reimburse the reasonable cost of modifying your home or vehicle that a medical practitioner certifies is necessary because of the injury. Unless the schedule shows otherwise, the limit is $30,000.

Transport to Work

If, because of an injury, a medical practitioner certifies that you cannot drive yourself or use public transport, but you are able to work, we will reimburse the reasonable cost of transport between your home and your place of work. Unless the schedule shows otherwise, the limit is $2,500 for any one injury.

Escalation of Weekly Benefits

If we have paid weekly benefits for the same period of disablement continuously for 12 months, we will increase the weekly benefit by 5% on each anniversary of the first day it was paid, for the rest of the benefit period.

How We Pay Benefits

How Much We Pay Each Week

Each week we pay the lower of:

We pay weekly benefits fortnightly in arrears, for each day of disablement at one-seventh of the weekly amount. We pay no weekly benefit for the waiting period.

Recurring Disablement

If you return to work and, within 6 months, you are again disabled from the same or a related injury or sickness, we treat it as a continuation of the earlier disablement. No new waiting period applies, and the benefit period already used counts towards the benefit period.

If you have worked full time in your usual occupation for 6 consecutive months, a further disablement is a new claim.

One Capital Benefit for Each Injury

For any one injury, we pay only one of Events 1 to 18 in the Capital Benefits table, the one with the highest percentage. We do not add the percentages of two or more events together.

Once we have paid 100% of the capital sum for you for one or more injuries, your cover under the Capital Benefits clause ends. The rest of this policy continues for you.

Weekly Benefits Before a Capital Benefit

If we pay a capital benefit for an injury, we deduct from it the weekly benefits we have already paid for the same injury, except where the capital benefit is for Event 1 or for Events 8 to 18. We then stop paying weekly benefits for that injury.

If you die from a cause unrelated to the injury before a capital benefit for Events 2 to 18 is assessed, we will pay the amount we reasonably consider would have been payable.

Other Payments for the Same Disablement

We reduce the weekly benefit by any weekly payment you receive, or are entitled to receive, for the same period of disablement from:

so that the total of all those payments and our weekly benefit is no more than your income. If Endorsement E11 applies to your category, the weekly benefit tops up workers compensation as that endorsement says.

We do not reduce the weekly benefit because of any other personal accident, sickness, income protection or disability income insurance. The Other Insurance provision explains how this policy fits with other insurance.

We do not reduce capital benefits, or the benefits in the Additional Benefits section, for any other payment.

Other Insurance

If a loss covered by this policy is also covered by another insurance policy, we will not refuse or reduce our payment because of that other insurance. We may seek contribution from the other insurer as the law allows. This does not apply where the schedule or an endorsement states that this policy is excess of a specified underlying policy, in which case this policy pays only after the limit of that specified policy is exhausted.

Corporate travel policies. Where Endorsement E08 applies, the corporate travel policy named in the schedule is a specified underlying policy for an injury to a covered person while travelling on the policyholder's business. This policy then pays its weekly benefits and additional benefits only for the amount that the corporate travel policy does not pay for the same benefit, and both policies pay their capital benefits in full.

Mental Illness

For temporary total disablement or temporary partial disablement from a mental illness, we pay weekly sickness benefits for no more than 26 weeks for any one sickness, even if the benefit period is longer. This limit does not apply to a mental illness that results from an injury.

[WP REVIEW: confirm the 26-week limit is supportable under the Disability Discrimination Act 1992 (Cth) s46 on actuarial or statistical data, and is not an unfair term for a consumer or small business contract.]

Age Limits

We do not pay weekly benefits for any period after your 65th birthday, unless Endorsement E09 applies.

If you are 70 or older on the date of the accident, the capital sum for that injury is 50% of the amount shown in the schedule, and the most we pay for Event 2 is $250,000 unless the schedule shows otherwise.

We do not pay any benefit for an injury or sickness that happens after your 75th birthday.

Where the schedule shows different age limits for your category, those apply instead.

Living and Travelling Overseas

You are covered while you are outside Australia, for up to 90 consecutive days on any one trip, unless Endorsement E04 allows a longer period.

If you leave Australia while you are receiving weekly benefits, tell us before you go. We will continue to pay weekly benefits for up to 90 days while you are outside Australia, and for longer if we agree in writing. We may ask you to return to Australia for a medical examination at our expense.

Accumulation Limit

The most we will pay in capital benefits for any one injury, under this policy and every other personal accident policy we have issued that covers you, is the accumulation limit. Unless the schedule shows otherwise, the accumulation limit is $2,000,000. If the total would be more, we reduce the benefit under each policy in proportion.

Aggregate Limits

The most we will pay for all claims under this policy arising from any one occurrence is the aggregate limit for any one occurrence shown in the schedule. Unless the schedule shows otherwise, it is $10,000,000. An occurrence is one event, or a series of related events from one original cause, and includes every covered person affected by it.

The most we will pay for all claims arising from any one occurrence involving air travel other than as a fare-paying passenger on a regular scheduled airline or licensed charter service is the non-scheduled air travel limit shown in the schedule. Unless the schedule shows otherwise, it is $2,000,000.

The most we will pay for all claims in any one policy period is the policy period aggregate shown in the schedule. Unless the schedule shows otherwise, it is $20,000,000.

If the claims for one occurrence, or for the policy period, exceed a limit, we reduce each covered person's benefit in the same proportion so that the total paid equals the limit.

What the Law Does Not Allow Us to Pay

The Health Insurance Act 1973 (Cth), the National Health Act 1953 (Cth) and the Private Health Insurance Act 2007 (Cth) do not allow us to pay:

We will not pay any benefit, or part of a benefit, to the extent that paying it would breach those Acts.

[WP REVIEW: the Non-Medicare Medical Expenses benefit was removed because it paid for general treatment (physiotherapy, chiropractic, dental and ambulance services) while excluding general treatment within the meaning of the Private Health Insurance Act 2007 (Cth), and it overlapped with health insurance business. Confirm the removal, and whether a fixed-sum benefit that does not reimburse a cost could be offered instead.]

Who We Pay

We pay every benefit to you, except that the Event 1 benefit and the benefits that follow it are paid to your legal personal representative. If you are unable to manage your affairs, we may pay a person legally entitled to act for you.

If the policyholder has continued to pay you while you are disabled, we may pay the weekly benefit for that period to the policyholder instead, but only with your written consent.

Payment as this clause allows discharges our liability for the amount paid.

What Is Not Covered

The exclusions below apply to every benefit under this policy, unless an exclusion says otherwise.

Intentional Self-Injury

We do not pay any benefit for your intentional self-injury, suicide or attempted suicide.

War

We do not pay any benefit for an injury or sickness caused by war, invasion, act of a foreign enemy, hostilities (whether war is declared or not), civil war, rebellion, revolution or insurrection.

This exclusion does not apply to an act of terrorism, unless you took part in it.

Nuclear

We do not pay any benefit for an injury or sickness caused by ionising radiation, or contamination by radioactivity, from any nuclear fuel, nuclear waste or nuclear weapon.

Alcohol and Drugs

We do not pay any benefit for an injury to the extent that it was caused or contributed to by: - you driving or being in charge of a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration above the legal limit where you are driving; - at any other time, your blood alcohol concentration being above 0.10 grams per 100 millilitres; or - you being under the influence of a drug that a medical practitioner did not prescribe for you, or that you did not take as prescribed.

It is for us to show that the alcohol or drug caused or contributed to the injury.

We do not pay any benefit for a sickness that results from your addiction to alcohol or a drug.

Criminal and Malicious Acts

We do not pay any benefit for an injury to the extent that it was caused or contributed to by you committing, or attempting to commit, a criminal offence punishable by imprisonment, or by you acting maliciously.

Acting maliciously means acting with the intention of harming another person or damaging another person's property.

Professional Sport

We do not pay any benefit for an injury that happens while you are taking part in, training for, coaching or officiating in any sport for which you receive, or are entitled to receive, a fee, sponsorship or prize money that is more than your reasonable expenses.

Flying

We do not pay any benefit for an injury that happens while you are in or on an aircraft, other than as a passenger in an aircraft that is licensed to carry passengers and is operated by a person licensed to fly it.

This exclusion does not apply to flying shown in the schedule under Endorsement E05.

Hazardous Pursuits

We do not pay any benefit for an injury that happens while you are taking part in:

This exclusion does not apply to a pursuit shown in the schedule under Endorsement E05.

Military Service

We do not pay any benefit for an injury that happens while you are serving full time, or on operational deployment as a reservist, in the armed forces of any country or of an international organisation.

Pre-existing Conditions

We do not pay weekly sickness benefits for disablement caused by a pre-existing condition. We do not pay any benefit for an injury to the extent that a pre-existing condition caused or contributed to the disablement or event.

This exclusion stops applying to a pre-existing condition once you have been continuously covered for 24 months. Continuous cover includes time immediately before you became a covered person during which you were covered for the same kind of benefit under the policyholder's previous group personal accident policy, with any insurer.

This exclusion is subject to s.47 of the Insurance Contracts Act 1984 (Cth): we will not rely on it for a condition that you were not aware of, and that a reasonable person in your circumstances could not have been expected to be aware of, when you became a covered person.

First 30 Days of Sickness Cover

We do not pay weekly sickness benefits for a sickness that first shows itself in the first 30 days after you first become covered for weekly sickness benefits under this policy. This exclusion does not apply on renewal, to a sickness that results from an injury, or if you were covered for weekly sickness benefits under the policyholder's previous group personal accident policy immediately before you became a covered person.

Pregnancy

We do not pay weekly sickness benefits for disablement caused by pregnancy, childbirth or miscarriage, except a complication that a medical practitioner certifies is not a normal part of pregnancy or childbirth. We pay weekly sickness benefits for such a complication as a sickness, from the first day of the 26th week of pregnancy at the earliest.

[WP REVIEW: confirm the 26th-week start is supportable under the Sex Discrimination Act 1984 (Cth) s41, or remove it.]

Elective Treatment

We do not pay any benefit for disablement caused by cosmetic or elective surgery or treatment, unless it is needed because of an injury or sickness covered by this policy.

Your Obligations

Each obligation is subject to the Insurance Contracts Act 1984 (Cth) condition.

Tell Us About Claims

You, or the policyholder for you, must tell us as soon as reasonably practicable after an accident, injury or sickness that may lead to a claim. For weekly benefits, give us a medical certificate covering the start of the disablement, and further certificates when we reasonably ask for them.

Give us the information and documents we reasonably need to assess the claim, including evidence of your income and of other payments under the Other Payments for the Same Disablement provision, at your own cost. The policyholder must give us any record it holds that we reasonably need, such as your income, your category and the dates you were covered.

Medical Care and Examination

Get treatment from a medical practitioner as soon as reasonably practicable after an injury or the start of a sickness, and follow their reasonable advice.

You must attend an examination by a medical practitioner or other health professional we choose, as often as we reasonably require while a claim is open. We pay for it. If you die, we may ask for a post-mortem examination at our expense, where the law allows it.

Tell Us About Changes

The policyholder must tell us during the policy period, as soon as reasonably practicable, if:

We will tell the policyholder whether the change affects the cover or the premium.

Policyholder's Records

The policyholder must keep records that show who was in each category on any date during the policy period, and the information it uses to declare the premium basis, and must keep them for at least 7 years after the policy period ends. It must give us a copy when we reasonably ask.

General Conditions

Covered Persons' Rights

Covered persons are not parties to this contract and do not pay the premium. Under s.48 of the Insurance Contracts Act 1984 (Cth), a covered person has a right to recover from us the benefits this policy provides for them, in accordance with this policy, as if they were the insured. A covered person has the same obligations under this policy in making a claim, and we have the same defences, as that section provides.

The policyholder does not hold this policy on trust for covered persons, does not act for us, and does not give covered persons advice about it. The policyholder receives no payment from us for arranging cover for covered persons, unless the schedule says otherwise.

Automatic Cover for New Covered Persons

A person who joins a category during the policy period is covered automatically from the date they join, on the terms for that category, if their capital sum and weekly benefit are within the free cover limit shown in the schedule. A person whose benefits would exceed the free cover limit is covered up to that limit until we accept them in writing for the full amount.

Unless the schedule shows otherwise, the free cover limit is a capital sum of $1,000,000 and a weekly benefit of $3,000.

Declarations and Premium Adjustment

Where the schedule shows the premium is adjustable, the premium shown is a deposit premium based on the estimated number of covered persons (or wages, volunteers, players or students, as the schedule shows) in each category. Within 30 days after the policy period ends, the policyholder must declare the actual figures. We will then adjust the premium at the rates used for the deposit premium, subject to the minimum premium shown in the schedule. If the policyholder does not declare, we may adjust the premium on a reasonable estimate and will tell the policyholder how we made it.

Notices

We give notices about this policy to the policyholder, which must pass on to covered persons any notice that affects their cover. A notice about a claim may be given by us to the covered person, or to their representative.

Insurance Contracts Act 1984 (Cth)

Nothing in this policy excludes, restricts or modifies the operation of the Insurance Contracts Act 1984 (Cth). Where this policy is inconsistent with the Act, the Act prevails.

If this policy would otherwise let us refuse to pay a claim, in whole or in part, because of something the policyholder or a covered person did or did not do after this policy was entered into, section 54 of the Act applies. We may not refuse to pay the claim only because of that act or omission. Our liability is reduced by the amount that fairly represents the extent to which our interests were prejudiced. Where the act or omission could reasonably be regarded as capable of causing or contributing to the loss, we may refuse to pay only the part of the claim that the act or omission caused or contributed to. We may not refuse any part that the policyholder or the covered person proves the act or omission did not cause. This applies to every condition, exclusion, limit and obligation in this policy, not only to the claims conditions.

Cancellation

The policyholder may cancel this policy at any time by telling us. We refund the premium for the unexpired period of insurance on a pro-rata basis, less any non-refundable government charges, after the premium adjustment in the Declarations and Premium Adjustment condition and subject to any minimum premium shown in the schedule. If the policyholder cancels within the cooling-off period, the refund is as the Important Information section states.

We may cancel this policy only as the Insurance Contracts Act 1984 (Cth) allows, by giving the policyholder written notice as that Act requires. We refund the premium for the unexpired period on a pro-rata basis.

A covered person cannot cancel or vary this policy. When this policy is cancelled, cover ends for every covered person. Cancellation does not affect a claim for an injury that happened, or a sickness that first showed itself, before cancellation.

Renewal

Each renewal is a new contract. Before this policy ends, we will tell the policyholder whether we offer to renew it and on what terms, as s.58 of the Insurance Contracts Act 1984 (Cth) requires. We are not obliged to offer renewal.

Fraudulent Claims

If a claim is made fraudulently, we may refuse to pay it, as s.56 of the Insurance Contracts Act 1984 (Cth) allows.

Sanctions

We do not provide cover, pay any claim or provide any benefit under this policy to the extent that doing so would expose us to any sanction, prohibition or restriction under: - the Autonomous Sanctions Act 2011 (Cth), the Charter of the United Nations Act 1945 (Cth), or regulations made under either Act; or - the trade or economic sanctions laws of the United Kingdom, the United States of America or the European Union, to the extent they apply to us.

[WP REVIEW: confirm that naming the UK, US and EU regimes is appropriate for Australian capacity; this is a deliberate library-wide scope choice.]

GST

The premium includes GST where it applies, under A New Tax System (Goods and Services Tax) Act 1999 (Cth). The benefits under this policy are fixed amounts and are not adjusted for GST or input tax credits.

Privacy

We collect, use and disclose personal information about covered persons, including health information, to administer this policy and manage claims, in accordance with the Privacy Act 1988 (Cth) and our privacy policy. The policyholder may give us personal information about covered persons, and must tell them that it does so and where to find our privacy policy. Our privacy policy explains how a covered person can access and correct their information and how to complain about a privacy matter.

Complaints and Disputes

If the policyholder or a covered person is unhappy with our service or a decision, contact us at the details in the schedule. We will acknowledge your complaint within one business day and give you our decision within 30 calendar days.

If they are not satisfied with our response, or we have not responded within 30 calendar days, they may take the complaint to the Australian Financial Complaints Authority (AFCA), a free and independent dispute resolution service: www.afca.org.au, 1800 931 678, info@afca.org.au.

Governing Law

This policy is governed by the law of the Australian state or territory shown in the schedule. If the schedule does not show one, it is governed by the law of the state or territory where the policyholder's registered office was on the date this policy started.

Jurisdiction

The policyholder, each covered person and we submit to the jurisdiction of the courts of the state or territory whose law governs this policy, and of any court that may hear appeals from them.

Headings and References

Headings are for convenience only. A reference to legislation includes any legislation that amends or replaces it. A reference to a clause by its heading is a reference to that clause as it appears in this wording.

How to Make a Claim

  1. Tell the policyholder, or contact the policyholder's broker or us directly at the details shown in the schedule. You can claim directly, without the policyholder (see the Covered Persons' Rights condition).
  2. Tell us what happened and when, and the name of the medical practitioner treating you (see the Tell Us About Claims obligation).
  3. For weekly benefits, send us a medical certificate and evidence of your income for the last 12 months. The policyholder will confirm your category and the dates you were covered.
  4. Tell us about any workers compensation, transport accident, sick leave or other insurance payments you receive or have claimed.
  5. We will acknowledge your claim, send you a claim form within 7 days and keep you informed.

Endorsement Library

An endorsement applies only if its code is shown in the schedule. Each endorsement changes this policy only as it states, and is read together with the variables shown for it in the schedule. Where an endorsement and the rest of this policy conflict, the endorsement applies to the extent of the conflict. If a variable an endorsement needs is not shown in the schedule, the default stated in the endorsement applies; if it has no default, the endorsement does not apply until we show the variable in the schedule.

CodeEndorsementEffect
E01Voluntary WorkersCovers voluntary workers, per head, injury only
E02Journey CoverLimits a category to journeys
E03Sports TeamsCovers registered players and officials, per head
E04Overseas SecondmentCovers secondment overseas, with evacuation
E05Named Hazardous PursuitWrites back the hazardous pursuits named
E06Fly-in Fly-outCovers fly-in fly-out rosters and charter flights
E07Extended Benefit PeriodExtends the benefit period to 260 weeks or age 65
E08Corporate Travel InterfaceCoordinates with a corporate travel policy
E09Weekly Benefits to Age 70Extends weekly benefits to age 70
E10Passive War and Political Risk ZonesCovers passive war risk in named countries
E11Workers Compensation Top-UpMakes weekly benefits top up workers compensation
E12Key Person Top-UpRaises benefits for named key persons
E13Lloyd's UnderwritersAdds Lloyd's several liability, service of suit and complaints terms
E14Enterprise Agreement TermsApplies enterprise agreement terms
E15StudentsCovers enrolled students, per head
E16Specific Condition ExclusionExcludes a named condition for a named covered person

E01 Voluntary Workers

The category named in the schedule for this endorsement covers voluntary workers: people doing unpaid work authorised and controlled by the policyholder. For them:

The premium for this category is a rate per voluntary worker.

Schedule variables: number of voluntary workers (or the declaration basis); capital sum; weekly benefit for income earners; domestic help weekly amount (default $500); reduced capital sum for those under 18 and 80 or over (default 25% of the capital sum); age limits for voluntary workers, if different from the age limits in the Age Limits clause.

Wording note — platform rule (not part of the policy)

Questions

  • How many voluntary workers should be covered? qs.gpa.pertype.volunteers

Default rules (the first rule that matches applies; agencies may set their own actions and thresholds)

  • When qs.gpa.pertype.volunteers > 0: Apply automatically

Underwriter responses (on a referral or suggestion): Attach; Do not attach

Reason shown on the quote and schedule: Applied because the policyholder covers {qs.gpa.pertype.volunteers} voluntary workers.

E02 Journey Cover

For the category named in the schedule for this endorsement, the scope of cover is journeys only: while you are travelling directly between your home and your place of work, by a reasonably direct route, without interruption for any private purpose. The Weekly Benefits for Sickness clause does not apply to that category.

Schedule variables: category.

Wording note — platform rule (not part of the policy)

Questions

  • Is any category to be covered for journeys to and from work only? qs.gpa.policy.journey_only

Default rules (the first rule that matches applies; agencies may set their own actions and thresholds)

  • When qs.gpa.policy.journey_only == yes: Refer to the underwriter, with the endorsement pre-selected

Underwriter responses (on a referral or suggestion): Attach; Attach with premium loading; Do not attach; Decline risk

Reason shown on the quote and schedule: Offered because journey-only cover was requested; it is outside the standard target market.

E03 Sports Teams

The category named in the schedule for this endorsement covers registered players, coaches, umpires and officials of the policyholder. For them:

The premium for this category is a rate per registered player or official.

Schedule variables: the sport; number of registered participants (or the declaration basis); capital sum; weekly benefit; reduced capital sum for those under 18 (default 20% of the capital sum).

Wording note — platform rule (not part of the policy)

Questions

  • How many registered players, coaches and officials should be covered? qs.gpa.pertype.players

Default rules (the first rule that matches applies; agencies may set their own actions and thresholds)

  • When qs.gpa.pertype.players > 0: Apply automatically

Underwriter responses (on a referral or suggestion): Attach; Do not attach

Reason shown on the quote and schedule: Applied because the policyholder covers {qs.gpa.pertype.players} registered players and officials.

E04 Overseas Secondment

For the covered persons named in the schedule for this endorsement, the Living and Travelling Overseas provision does not limit cover while they are seconded by the policyholder to work outside Australia in the countries named, for the period shown. We also pay the reasonable cost of emergency medical evacuation to the nearest place where adequate treatment is available, and of returning the covered person to Australia, up to the limit shown.

Schedule variables: covered persons or category; countries; secondment period; evacuation and repatriation limit (default $100,000).

Wording note — platform rule (not part of the policy)

Questions

  • Are any covered persons seconded to work outside Australia? qs.gpa.policy.overseas_secondment

Default rules (the first rule that matches applies; agencies may set their own actions and thresholds)

  • When qs.gpa.policy.overseas_secondment == yes: Refer to the underwriter, with the endorsement pre-selected

Underwriter responses (on a referral or suggestion): Attach; Attach with premium loading; Do not attach

Reason shown on the quote and schedule: Offered because covered persons are seconded to work outside Australia.

E05 Named Hazardous Pursuit

The Hazardous Pursuits exclusion and the Flying exclusion do not apply to the pursuits named in the schedule for this endorsement, for the categories named, while covered persons take part in them as amateurs, under the rules of the governing body for the pursuit where there is one, and holding any licence or qualification it requires.

Schedule variables: named pursuits and categories; conditions for each pursuit; any capital sum limit for injury during the pursuit.

Wording note — platform rule (not part of the policy)

Questions

  • Do covered persons need cover for a pursuit the base wording excludes (for example, scuba diving below 30 metres, air sports or motor racing)? qs.gpa.policy.hazardous_pursuits

Default rules (the first rule that matches applies; agencies may set their own actions and thresholds)

  • When qs.gpa.policy.hazardous_pursuits == yes: Refer to the underwriter, with the endorsement pre-selected

Underwriter responses (on a referral or suggestion): Attach; Attach with premium loading; Do not attach; Decline risk

Reason shown on the quote and schedule: Offered because covered persons take part in a pursuit the base wording excludes.

E06 Fly-in Fly-out

For the category named in the schedule for this endorsement, the scope of cover includes travel between your home and a remote work site on a roster arranged by the policyholder, including air travel on a charter flight the policyholder arranges, and time at accommodation the policyholder provides at or near the site. The non-scheduled air travel limit in the Aggregate Limits provision applies to charter flights.

Schedule variables: category; work sites; non-scheduled air travel limit for this category.

Wording note — platform rule (not part of the policy)

Questions

  • Do covered persons fly in and fly out to remote sites, or travel on charter flights the policyholder arranges? qs.gpa.policy.fifo

Default rules (the first rule that matches applies; agencies may set their own actions and thresholds)

  • When qs.gpa.policy.fifo == yes: Refer to the underwriter, with the endorsement pre-selected

Underwriter responses (on a referral or suggestion): Attach; Attach with amended sub-limit; Attach with premium loading; Do not attach

Reason shown on the quote and schedule: Offered because covered persons fly in and fly out to remote sites.

E07 Extended Benefit Period

For the category named in the schedule for this endorsement, the benefit period is the period shown for this endorsement, which may be 260 weeks or to age 65, in place of the benefit period shown for the category.

Schedule variables: category; benefit period.

Wording note — platform rule (not part of the policy)

Questions

  • Is a benefit period longer than 104 weeks needed for any category? qs.gpa.policy.extended_benefit_period

Default rules (the first rule that matches applies; agencies may set their own actions and thresholds)

  • When qs.gpa.policy.extended_benefit_period == yes: Refer to the underwriter, with the endorsement pre-selected

Underwriter responses (on a referral or suggestion): Attach; Attach with premium loading; Do not attach

Reason shown on the quote and schedule: Offered because a benefit period longer than 104 weeks was requested.

E08 Corporate Travel Interface

Where an injury to a covered person while travelling on the policyholder's business is also covered by the corporate travel policy named in the schedule for this endorsement, that policy is a specified underlying policy for the purposes of the Other Insurance provision. This policy pays its capital benefits in full, and pays its weekly benefits and additional benefits only for the amount that the corporate travel policy does not pay for the same benefit.

Schedule variables: the corporate travel policy number and insurer.

Wording note — platform rule (not part of the policy)

Questions

  • Does the policyholder hold a corporate travel insurance policy? qs.gpa.policy.corporate_travel

Default rules (the first rule that matches applies; agencies may set their own actions and thresholds)

  • When qs.gpa.policy.corporate_travel == yes: Suggest to the underwriter (quote not held)

Underwriter responses (on a referral or suggestion): Attach; Do not attach

Reason shown on the quote and schedule: Suggested because the policyholder also holds a corporate travel policy.

E09 Weekly Benefits to Age 70

For the category named in the schedule for this endorsement, in the Age Limits provision, 70th birthday replaces 65th birthday for weekly benefits.

Schedule variables: category.

Wording note — platform rule (not part of the policy)

Questions

  • Are weekly benefits needed for covered persons aged 65 or older? qs.gpa.policy.weekly_over_65

Default rules (the first rule that matches applies; agencies may set their own actions and thresholds)

  • When qs.gpa.policy.weekly_over_65 == yes: Refer to the underwriter, with the endorsement pre-selected

Underwriter responses (on a referral or suggestion): Attach; Attach with premium loading; Do not attach

Reason shown on the quote and schedule: Offered because weekly benefits are needed for covered persons aged 65 or older.

E10 Passive War and Political Risk Zones

The War exclusion does not apply to a covered person who is injured as a result of war, civil war or unrest in a country named in the schedule for this endorsement while they are there for the policyholder's business and are not taking part in it, for up to 14 days after it begins, or for the period shown.

Schedule variables: countries; period.

Wording note — platform rule (not part of the policy)

Questions

  • Do covered persons travel to countries with a war or political risk? qs.gpa.policy.high_risk_countries

Default rules (the first rule that matches applies; agencies may set their own actions and thresholds)

  • When qs.gpa.policy.high_risk_countries == yes: Refer to the underwriter, with the endorsement pre-selected

Underwriter responses (on a referral or suggestion): Attach; Attach with premium loading; Do not attach; Decline risk

Reason shown on the quote and schedule: Offered because covered persons travel to countries with a war or political risk.

E11 Workers Compensation Top-Up

For the categories named in the schedule for this endorsement, while you are entitled to weekly payments under a workers compensation law for an injury, the weekly benefit for that injury is the amount by which the lower of the weekly benefit and the percentage of income in the How Much We Pay Each Week provision exceeds those payments. Outside working hours, and once workers compensation payments stop, the weekly benefit applies in full.

Schedule variables: categories.

Wording note — platform rule (not part of the policy)

Questions

  • Should weekly benefits for any category top up workers compensation? qs.gpa.policy.wc_top_up

Default rules (the first rule that matches applies; agencies may set their own actions and thresholds)

  • When qs.gpa.policy.wc_top_up == yes: Apply automatically

Underwriter responses (on a referral or suggestion): Attach; Do not attach

Reason shown on the quote and schedule: Applied because weekly benefits are to top up workers compensation.

E12 Key Person Top-Up

For the covered persons named in the schedule for this endorsement, the capital sum and weekly benefit shown for each of them replace those of their category. We must accept each named person in writing.

Schedule variables: named persons; capital sum and weekly benefit for each.

Wording note — platform rule (not part of the policy)

Questions

  • How many named key persons need higher benefits than their category? qs.gpa.policy.key_persons

Default rules (the first rule that matches applies; agencies may set their own actions and thresholds)

  • When qs.gpa.policy.key_persons > 0: Refer to the underwriter, with the endorsement pre-selected

Underwriter responses (on a referral or suggestion): Attach; Attach with premium loading; Do not attach

Reason shown on the quote and schedule: Offered because {qs.gpa.policy.key_persons} key persons need higher benefits than their category.

E13 Lloyd's Underwriters

This policy is underwritten by the Lloyd's underwriters named in the schedule. Each underwriter is liable only for its own share, and not for the share of any other underwriter.

The underwriters agree that any dispute about this policy may be heard by a court of competent jurisdiction in Australia, and that the Lloyd's General Representative in Australia named in the schedule may accept service of process for them. Complaints may also be made to Lloyd's Australia at the details shown in the schedule, as well as under the Complaints and Disputes condition.

Schedule variables: underwriters and their shares; Lloyd's General Representative; Lloyd's complaints contact.

Wording note — platform rule (not part of the policy)

Questions

  • Is this policy issued under a Lloyd's binding authority? qs.gpa.issuer.lloyds

Default rules (the first rule that matches applies; agencies may set their own actions and thresholds)

  • When qs.gpa.issuer.lloyds == yes: Apply automatically

Underwriter responses (on a referral or suggestion): Attach

Reason shown on the quote and schedule: Applied because the policy is issued under a Lloyd's binding authority.

E14 Enterprise Agreement Terms

For the categories named in the schedule for this endorsement, the benefits shown in the schedule are those an enterprise agreement or award requires the policyholder to provide. Where a term of this policy gives less than the agreement requires for those benefits, the agreement's term applies to the extent shown in the schedule. This endorsement does not make us a party to the agreement.

Schedule variables: categories; agreement name and clause; the terms that apply.

Wording note — platform rule (not part of the policy)

Questions

  • Is any of this cover required by an enterprise agreement or award? qs.gpa.policy.enterprise_agreement

Default rules (the first rule that matches applies; agencies may set their own actions and thresholds)

  • When qs.gpa.policy.enterprise_agreement == yes: Refer to the underwriter, with the endorsement pre-selected

Underwriter responses (on a referral or suggestion): Attach; Attach with premium loading; Do not attach

Reason shown on the quote and schedule: Offered because an enterprise agreement or award requires the cover.

E15 Students

The category named in the schedule for this endorsement covers enrolled students of the policyholder. For them:

The premium for this category is a rate per enrolled student.

Schedule variables: number of enrolled students (or the declaration basis); scope; capital sum; reduced capital sum for those under 18 (default $50,000).

Wording note — platform rule (not part of the policy)

Questions

  • How many enrolled students should be covered? qs.gpa.pertype.students

Default rules (the first rule that matches applies; agencies may set their own actions and thresholds)

  • When qs.gpa.pertype.students > 0: Apply automatically

Underwriter responses (on a referral or suggestion): Attach; Do not attach

Reason shown on the quote and schedule: Applied because the policyholder covers {qs.gpa.pertype.students} enrolled students.

E16 Specific Condition Exclusion

We do not pay any benefit to the covered person named in the schedule for this endorsement for disablement or an event caused by, or contributed to by, the condition named, or by any complication of it.

Schedule variables: covered person; named condition; any period after which this endorsement stops applying.

Wording note — platform rule (not part of the policy)

Questions

  • Does any person who needs benefits above the free cover limit have a medical condition to disclose? qs.gpa.history.condition_exclusions

Default rules (the first rule that matches applies; agencies may set their own actions and thresholds)

  • When qs.gpa.history.condition_exclusions == yes: Refer to the underwriter, with the endorsement pre-selected

Underwriter responses (on a referral or suggestion): Attach; Do not attach

Reason shown on the quote and schedule: Offered because a covered person needs benefits above the free cover limit and has disclosed a medical condition.

Licence and Trademark Notice

This wording's text is licensed under Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0). The licence applies to the wording text only. It does not extend to, and no licence is granted in, the "Meridian" name, the Cuttleflow Systems name, logo, bearing mark, or any other trademark, trade dress, or brand asset, all of which remain the property of their respective owners and may not be used without separate permission.

An adopting insurer's own schedule, proposal, endorsements and other materials prepared for use with this wording are not required to be released under CC BY 4.0 merely because they are used together with this wording; CC BY 4.0 requires only that you attribute the wording text you use.

This wording is provided for general use and adaptation. Adopting insurers and their advisers are responsible for obtaining their own legal, regulatory, and reinsurance advice before use, including on whether a Product Disclosure Statement and Target Market Determination are required. Use of this wording requires the approval of the relevant capacity provider. Any Wording Partner review and sign-off letter issued in respect of this wording runs to Cuttleflow Pty Ltd t/a Cuttleflow Systems only and does not constitute legal advice to any adopting insurer or insured.

Designed for the Australian market. Assumes application of the Insurance Contracts Act 1984 (Cth). Users are responsible for their own legal review, regulatory compliance, and reinsurance alignment.

Comments on this wording

The rest of the libraryComment where it’s quiet